top of page
Writer's pictureSTICK*

Kathryn Ford "It’s All In The Details"

My name is Kathryn Ford and I’m a member of Vancouver Street Photography Collective. My Instagram handle is @katymight. I work in the DTES of Vancouver, where I see many examples of unofficial street art on the walls.

I’m fascinated by the detail one sees in huge murals on public walls. Tucked away in a laneway just off the Cordova diversion near Campbell Avenue, I found Laura Kwok at work on her piece, Late Bloomer. As a photographer who has trouble drawing stick figures, I loved Laura’s detailed flowers and what looks like a fox coming into being, and how, even early in the process, they were coalescing into a bigger whole. This is not the busiest lane, and people entering it will feel as though they’ve stumbled into a secret garden, a little beauty in a difficult time.  I will return there for a little colour when the November rains are upon us. - Kathryn Ford

Can't get enough of Late Bloomer? Check out this write up by Sarah Wong at The Peak.


Laura Kwok "Late Bloomer" at the alley behind E Hastings and Campbell Ave.





18 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page