top of page
Writer's pictureSTICK*

“North Shore Mountains Look From the South” by Edward Juan


The 2020 Pride Art Walk has been a chance to showcase some of the brightest local lgbtq2+ artists in our city. One of those artists is Edward Juan with his work “North Shore Mountains Look From the South."


Located in Nelson Park this work was created using locally sourced pigments and dyes. The work is on display until August third. We had a chance to ask Edward about his work and art in Vancouver.


***


Can you tell us a bit about your work “North Shore Mountains Look From the South” and the Pride Art Walk project?

These mountains have been created using a wood construction and painted using plant based ink. My concept was cultivated from an ongoing research to connect traditional craftsmanship with contemporary art practice. Specifically for this project I extract ink colour from selected native flora from the local coastal mountains.


How does your art play a role in celebrating pride?

As a gay or queer immigrant to Canada from Taiwan, I want to contribute my art practice to the greater mosaic of Canadian culture. I am also an emerging artist, so I'm still developing my footing. I was offered this opportunity and I said yes immediately.


Something I noticed walking by the park was how it created a centerpiece for the park with people in small physically distant pockets around it. Did you purposely place it with that in mind?

I was looking for a spot in the park that has the most sun exposure. From a previous experiment I saw the colour changes with the direction of the sunlight. I want that effect to change as the day passes.


The work was made from locally sourced inks and pigments. How long have you been working with natural inks? Is this the largest thing you’ve made using them?

I've been foraging and extracting ink from plants in the past 2 years. And yes, this is the largest piece I've ever made. Also it is the first wooden piece.


How important is public and street art in a time where being inside in crowds is potentially life threatening?

I think it is important for us to remember life still goes on even with the "new normal". Arts and culture still needs to happen even at these strange times. I think the pride society wants to celebrate pride safely, and this is an experiment for them to work with local lgbtq2+ artists. Also, I want to thank the pride society for paying artists for their work.


Vancouver gets a bad rep as a “no fun city,” is that fair? What can the city do better, at least from an art perspective?

I disagree with that "no fun city" statement because it is childish and lazy. I lived in Toronto, Portland, Oakland, Los Angeles, New York City, and this is the city that I witness the most financial support for the arts and culture scene. I think it is what you make out of a community and actively seek out what it has to offer. For example, the Museum of Anthropology has a new exhibition by Kent Monkman, an amazing contemporary first nation artist. I strongly suggest everyone go on their website and reserve a ticket to go see it. He identifies as a queer and two spirit person.


Also, if you want to meet people in a community, I strongly suggest to go volunteer in a local non-profit.

Who are some artists that inspire you?

Right now particularly I'm really into Gauguin's Tahiti paintings and the kites by Francisco Toledo.


What kind of other projects are you working on? What’s next for you?

I am also selected as an ambassador for BC Culture Days for 2020. I will be hosting a few workshops and artist demonstrations in Vancouver and the Sunshine Coast.



And I'm continuing my research hoping to extend it to Taiwan and other regions of Canada or the United States, once this pandemic takes a hike.


Is there anything else you would like to promote or talk about?

I have an exhibition at Malaspina Printmakers Society gallery on Granville Island until the first week of August. Please go check it out right here!


***


You can find "North Shore Mountains Look From the South” on display in Nelson park from July 20 to August 3 and more work by Edward on Instagram or on their website. Stop by his gallery show at Granville Island's Malaspina Printmakers until August 15.



19 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page